Friday, September 16, 2005

Happy Constitution Day!!!

"We the People of the United States, in Order to form a more perfect Union, establish Justice, insure domestic Tranquility, provide for the common defense, promote the general Welfare, and secure the Blessings of Liberty to ourselves and our Posterity, do ordain and establish this Constitution for the United States of America."

"All America will unite in the simultaneous recitation of the Preamble to the United States Constitution all over the world on Friday September 16, 2005, with the nation's schools and the military at home and overseas. (Our whole school receited The Preamble simutaneously in our classrooms via intercom...led by our Principal, it was awesome! BUT my students memorized it in 7th grade using the song from Schoolhouse Rock so they had to sing it.)

President George W. Bush signed a bill on December 8th, 2004 (public law 108-447) which designates every September 17th as Constitution Day. However, Constitution Day, Inc. has been celebrating for the past eight years with the simultaneous recitation of the Preamble.

General Tommy Franks will lead the Preamble which has previously been led by President George Bush Sr., U.S. Supreme Court Associate Justice Anthony Kennedy, Chief Justice of Alabama Roy Moore, and Governor of Pennsylvania Edward Rendell.

The celebration will begin at 11 AM Pacific/12 PM Mountain/1 PM Central/2 PM Eastern time, with the simultaneous recitation of the Preamble to the US Constitution."

For more information, click here.

2 Comments:

At 2:51 PM , Blogger American Idiot said...

Tori, I hope you don't mind, I put a link to your blog on mine. You don't have to do the same if you don't feel like it. But I always get a kick out of your posts so I figured I would.

-A.I.

 
At 3:08 PM , Blogger Tori said...

I'll have to read a couple more posts of yours to see if you are "link worthy" :) hee hee

 

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home